Date: August 6, 2019
Contact person: Sandra T. Paredes, Executive Director, LPP
09167528005 (Globe) or 09199115166 (Smart)


Pres. Rodrigo Roa Duterte inducted the new set of officers of the League of Provinces of the Philippines, led by its national president, Marinduque Gov. Presbitero J. Velasco, Jr. and national chairman, Quirino Gov. Dakila Carlo E. Cua in the President’s Hall at the Malacanan Palace on 6 August 2019.

Velasco, a retired associate justice of the Supreme Court, and Cua, former representative of the Lone District of Quirino who chaired the House Committee on Ways and Means during the 17th Congress, are expected to lead the League in pushing for its advocacies, such as the immediate implementation by the national government on the decision of the Supreme Court in the Mandanas case mandating that LGUs should have a 40% share in all national tax collections, and the necessary transitions to ensure the implementation of the Universal Health Care Act.

Govs. Velasco and Cua have likewise reiterated the League’s commitment to support the 0 to 10 Priority Agenda of the Duterte Administration toward the achievement of the goals and objectives in the 2017-2022 Philippine Development Plan and the AmBisyon Natin 2040.

Also elected to lead the League in pursuing its various advocacies toward protecting and advancing local autonomy and decentralization are Tarlac Gov. Susan A. Yap as Executive Vice President; Gov. Albert Raymond S. Garcia of Bataan and Oriental Mindoro Gov. Humerlito A. Dolor as Vice-Presidents for Luzon, and Aklan Gov. Florencio T. Miraflores and Zamboanga Sibugay Gov. Wilter T. Palma as vice-presidents for Visayas and Mindanao, respectively.

Meanwhile Davao Oriental Gov. Nelson L. Dayanghirang was elected as secretary-general.

The National Executive Board, comprising of the regional chairpersons selected by the
governors in their respective regions include the following:

CAR : Gov. Maria Jocelyn V. Bernos
Region I : Gov. Ryan Luis V. Singson
Region II : Gov. Dakila Carlo E. Cua
Region III : Gov. Susan A. Yap
Region IV-A : Gov. Hermilando I. Mandanas
MIMAROPA : Gov. Presbitero J. Velasco Jr.
Region V : Gov. Al Francis C. Bichara
Region VI : Gov. Florencio T. Miraflores
Region VII : Gov. Zaldy S. Villa
Region VIII : Gov. Leopoldo Dominico L. Petilla
Region IX : Gov. Wilter Y. Palma
Region X : Gov. Jurdin Jesus Romualdo
Region XI : Gov. Jayvee Tyron Uy
Region XII : Gov. Nancy A. Catamco
CARAGA : Gov. Francisco T. Matugas
BARMM : Gov. Mamintal A. Adiong Jr.

Meanwhile, Eastern Samar Gov. Ben P. Evardone, together with Govs. Garcia, Dolor and Dayanghirang were selected as Board Members-at-Large.

Joining the roster of new officers of the LPP are the following:

● Treasurer: Gov. Imelda Q. Dimaporo
● Assistant Treasurer: Gov. Marilou H. Cayco
● Auditor: Gov. Maria Jocelyn V. Bernos
● Deputy Secretary-General for Luzon (North): Gov. Matthew Marcos Manotoc
● Deputy Secretary-General For Luzon (South): Gov. Jose R. Riano
● Deputy Secretary-General For Visayas: Gov. Arthur R. Defensor Jr.
● Deputy Secretary-General For Mindanao : Gov. Jayvee Tyron Uy

Publications and Public Information Officers

● Luzon (North): Gov. Eleanor C. Bulut -Begtang
● Luzon (South): Gov. Eduardo B. Gadiano
● Visayas: Gov. Ben P. Evardone
● Mindanao: Gov. Jurdin Jesus M. Romualdo

● Investments and Promotions Officer: Gov. Arthur C. Yap

Council of Advisers:

● Gov. Jose CH Alvarez
● Gov. Danilo E. Suarez
● Gov. Juanito Victor C. Remulla, Jr.
● Gov. Carlos M. Padilla
● Sen. Imee R. Marcos
● Former Governor Jose “Joey” Lina Jr.

The League of Provinces of the Philippines, under Sec. 502 of the Local Government Code, or R.A. 7160, is the mandated organization of all provinces in order to ventilate, articulate and crystallize issues affecting provincial and metropolitan political subdivision government administration, and secure solutions through proper and legal means.