1 August 2022

South Cotabato and Quirino Govs at the Helm of the League of Provinces

Once again the League of Provinces of the Philippines has positioned itself as a key partner in national development.

Following a unanimous nomination and election of both South Cotabato Gov. Reynaldo S. Tamayo Jr. and Quirino Gov. Dakila Carlo E. Cua, as National President and National Chairman, respectively, the LPP is expected to hit the ground running as champions for strengthened local
autonomy and advocates for stronger partnership with the national government in achieving the overall development objectives of the administration of Pres. Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr.

The League of Provinces of the Philippines held its First General Assembly and Election of Officers for Year Term 2022-2025 on 27 July 2022 at The Manila Hotel.

Its roster of elected officials include:

President Gov. Reynaldo S. Tamayo Jr.
National Chairman Gov. Dakila Carlo E. Cua
Executive Vice President Gov. Susan A. Yap
Vice President for Luzon Gov. Jose Enrique S. Garcia III
Vice President for Luzon Gov. Humerlito A. Dolor
Vice President for Visayas Gov. Jose Enrique M. Miraflores
Vice President for Mindanao Gov. Imelda Q. Dimaporo
Secretary-General Gov. Jesus Xavier D. Romualdo

Also elected as Regional Chairpersons and Board Members at Large were:

CAR Gov. Melchor D. Diclas
Region I Gov. Jeremias C. Singson
Region II Gov. Dakila Carlo E. Cua
Region III Gov. Susan A. Yap
Region CALABARZON Gov. Hermilando V. Mandanas
Region MIMAROPA Gov. Presbitero J. Velasco Jr.
Region V Gov. Ricarte R. Padilla
Region VI Gov. Jose Enrique M. Miraflores
Region VII Gov. Pryde Henry A. Teves
Region VIII Gov. Damian G. Mercado
Region IX Gov. Ann K. Hofer
Region X Gov. Imelda Q. Dimaporo
Region XI Gov. Edwin I. Jubahib
Region XII Gov. Reynaldo S. Tamayo Jr.
Region CARAGA Gov. Nilo P. Demerey Jr.
BARRM Gov. Yshmael I. Sali

Board Member-At-Large Gov. Jose Enrique S. Garcia
Board Member-At-Large Gov. Humerlito A. Dolor
Board Member-At-Large Gov. Erico Aristotle C. Aumentado
Board Member-At-Large Gov. Xavier Jesus D. Romualdo

In his acceptance message, Gov. Tamayo said he looked forward to a more vibrant LPP, where each and every province will have an opportunity to showcase and share its best practices in local governance.

On the other hand, Gov. Cua said the League’s direction will also be toward strengthening LGU data systems, more particularly at the provincial levels, and pushing for more responsive data analytics to assist and guide LGUs toward more efficient and evidence-based planning.

Both officials likewise affirmed the commitment of the League to closely work together with both the executive department and the 19th Congress toward strengthening and fine-tuning national policies to ensure that these are responsive to the development needs of the communities and constituencies, while ensuring the integrity of the physical environment amidst the greater challenges brough about by climate change.

“There are now greater expectations on governance and from its leaders, in light of the rapid advances in technology and information that has hastened globalization and figuratively made this world smaller, with every government linked together in real time. Technology has literally bridged the gap between time and distance, and it is necessary for us to be able to harness the same if we are to achieve our development aspirations, not in a silo, but together with the rest of the world,” said Gov. Tamayo.

He added that the League will fully support the development agenda of the Marcos Jr. administration, while expressing hope that the national government would continue to support the strengthening of local autonomy, especially in the full implementation of the Supreme Court ruling in the petitions of Mandanas vs. Ochoa and Garcia vs. Ochoa in 2019 granting LGUs a 40% share in all national tax collections, and not just in the internal revenue collections. ###

Contact: Angelica J. Sanchez
(0947) 4092767